Excellence Award Davide Campari

Every year this prestigious award honors artistic personalities whose contributions have made a mark on contemporary cinema.

Excellence Award Davide Campari 2021 to Laetitia Casta

Laetitia Casta personifies a highly modern concept of cinema, in tune with the ongoing transformation of audiences and moving images. Her artistic research has led her to work with some of the most innovative filmmakers of recent times, while conserving the unique and unmistakable acting style typical of classic cinema. Her ability to be both sophisticated and popular, an accessible diva, the bearer of a cultivated, strategic and profoundly European glamor, makes Laetitia Casta an emblematic figure of the kind of cinema of which Locarno is an expression, as also the perfect guest for a Piazza Grande that can once again welcome its audience in person. To open the 74th edition of the Locarno Film Festival by handing the Excellence Award to Laetitia Casta is a sign of hope that allows us to look to the future with confidence and enthusiasm.

Giona A. Nazzaro

Past winners
  • 2004 Oleg Menshikov
  • 2005 Susan Sarandon, John Malkovich and Vittorio Storaro 
  • 2006 Willem Dafoe
  • 2007 Michel Piccoli and Carmen Maura
  • 2008 Anjelica Huston
  • 2009 Toni Servillo
  • 2010 Chiara Mastroianni
  • 2011 Isabelle Huppert
  • 2012 Gael García Bernal and Charlotte Rampling
  • 2013 Sir Christopher Lee and Victoria Abril
  • 2014 Juliette Binoche and Giancarlo Giannini
  • 2015 Edward Norton 
  • 2016 Bill Pullman
  • 2017 Mathieu Kassovitz
  • 2018 Ethan Hawke
  • 2019 SONG Kang-Ho