Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2011 to salute film personalities with an extraordinary career. In the past years it was presented to film legends such as Harrison Ford (2011), Alain Delon (2012), Jacqueline Bisset (2013), Harvey Keitel (2016), Dario Argento (2021) and Matt Dillon (2022).

The 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced in the coming weeks

Lifetime Achievement Award 2022 to Matt Dillon

Matt Dillon embodies with supreme freedom an idea of the American artist and cinema that we deeply love. The restlessness of youth and the freedom of maturity. A performer who has built lasting, transgenerational success without ever shying away from exploring new challenges and languages. An astounding actor and director, Dillon represents the best of an idea of American cinema born in the 1970s while celebrating the courage of unconventional choices. We are honored to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Locarno Film Festival with him.

Giona A. Nazzaro 

Past winners
  • 2011 Harrison Ford
  • 2012 Alain Delon
  • 2013 Jacqueline Bisset
  • 2014 Armin Müller-Stahl
  • 2016 Harvey Keitel
  • 2021 Dario Argento
  • 2022 Matt Dillon

Support the festival now with a donation