News  ·  17 | 07 | 2019

The stars of Locarno72

All the honorees of the 2019 edition

Once again, the red carpet will get trampled. Many, many stars of world cinema will step on the brightly lit pathway to the stage, every night, among the flashes and applause in Piazza Grande. 

Joining Hilary Swank, the recipient of the Leopard Club Award 2019, are several major figures representing the different facets of cinema. There will be the healthy, unmissable madness of John Waters, recipient of the Pardo d'onore Manor, a master of provocative filmmaking, always on the edge of what is permissible, constantly sliding into the forbidden. There will be an actor who can dominate movie theaters worldwide like SONG Kang-ho, the Excellence Award honoree who will be joined by Palme d'Or winner BONG Joon-ho. There will be Komplizen Film, the production company receiving the Premio Raimondo Rezzonico, and Fulvio Bernasconi, this year's Premio Cinema Ticino. And then, staying in Switzerland, there will be the Pardo alla carriera to the beloved Fredi M. Murer, a master filmmaker who has recounted his homeland with the accuracy and cruelty of a mirror. Editor Claire Atherton, Chantal Akerman's cinematic soulmate, will receive the Vision Award Ticinomoda. And to conclude, there will be the brand new Premio Utopia, a name that couldn't suggest a better honoree than Enrico Ghezzi, the Italian audiovisual genius who created Blob and Fuori Orario, celebrating its 30th anniversary this year. 

Is that all? No, but we're keeping a few things to ourselves for now.

Support the festival now with a donation