Pardo alla Carriera

Fredi M. Murer, Pardo alla Carriera 2019

Share:

Mario Adorf, Pardo alla Carriera 2016

Share:

Bulle Ogier, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Marlen Khutsiev, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Jean-Pierre Léaud, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Victor Erice, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Sergio Castellito, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Otar Iosseliani, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Previous Next

Pardo alla carriera for Fredi M. Murer

Twenty films, in a career stretching back over almost 60 years: a major filmography in step with – and often anticipating – periods of renewal in Swiss cinema. Since he first went into filmmaking, in Zurich in the 1960s, Fredi M. Murer has continued to be a modest, remarkable and committed personality, aloof from the bright lights of the entertainment world and impervious to the dictates of the box office.

His early work consisted of anti-conventional and anarchic film portraits, through which he discovered film not as a medium but as the very necessity of expression. Then he made Wir Bergler in den Bergen sind eigentlich nicht schuld, dass wir da sind (1974), a film that broke with the classic documentary codes and swept aside the commonplaces borrowed from pre-war Swiss cinema,that depicted mountains and pastoral life in their ontological certainties.

Zones (1979) was Murer’s first venture into fiction, for him an expedient to take an X-ray of reality using an immersive technique in which life is a film and the filmmaker an image. That same iconographical perspective is inherent in Alpine Fire (1985), a masterpiece in which his ethnographical gaze relentlessly evokes the unspeakable, as in a Greek tragedy. The film is a kind of synthesis of Murer’s own output and the recurrent themes of Swiss cinema: the conflict between father and son, the turmoil of adolescence, escape, realization of identity, the evocation of an archaic lifestyle.

Connecting the past of Swiss film to its future, in an attempt to establish a continuity still lacking in the Swiss movie-going public and its experience of cinema: this is the task which Murer has set himself in his late creative period, in a series of themed full-length fiction features: Vollmond (1998), which has the scale and scope of the mainstream, despite keeping to an auteur register; Vitus (2006), a manifestofor childhood that touched a broad audience; Now or Never (2014), a drama which has a kind of hidden diary embedded in its fiction.

Murer’s interest lies along the subtle confines between reality and artifice, in the timeless moment in which the world around us becomes, through artistic creativity, “something else”.

Domenico Lucchini

 

Since 2010, the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo alla carriera pays tribute to one or more personalities recognised for their outstanding contributions to the film sector. In addition to the Awards ceremony on the Piazza Grande, the tribute also comprises a conversation with the audience and a small retrospective.

Past winners: 

  • 2010 Francesco Rosi
  • 2011 Claude Goretta, Bruno Ganz and Claudia Cardinale
  • 2012 Johnnie To, Harry Belafonte, and Peter-Christian Fueter
  • 2013 Sergio Castellito
  • 2014 Victor Erice
  • 2015 Marlen Khutsiev and Bulle Ogier
  • 2016 Mario Adorf and Jane Birkin
  • 2019 Fredi M. Murer

Follow us

Pardo alla Carriera

Fredi M. Murer, Pardo alla Carriera 2019

Share:

Mario Adorf, Pardo alla Carriera 2016

Share:

Bulle Ogier, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Marlen Khutsiev, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Jean-Pierre Léaud, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Victor Erice, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Sergio Castellito, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Otar Iosseliani, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Previous Next

Pardo alla carriera für Fredi M. Murer

20 Filme, nahezu 60 Jahre Karriere; ein bedeutsames Werk, das die verschiedenen Phasen der Erneuerung unseres Kinos prägte und oft vorwegnahm. Im Zürich der 60er-Jahre fing er an. Und seit er sich dem Kino widmet, ist Fredi M. Murer ein bescheidener, bemerkenswerter und engagierter Mensch fernab vom Medienrummel und dem Diktat der Kinokasse geblieben.

Seine ersten Arbeiten waren Porträtfilme, unkonventionell und anarchisch, mit denen er das Kino nicht als Medium, sondern als Notwendigkeit des Ausdrucks entdeckte. Dann drehte er Wir Bergler in den Bergen sind eigentlich nicht schuld, dass wir da sind (1974), einen Film, der mit den klassischen Schemata des Dokumentarfilms bricht und die Klischees des Schweizer Kinos der Vorkriegszeit – Berge und Hirten als Erben ontologischer Gewissheiten – auslöscht.

Mit Grauzone (1979) wandte er sich der «Fiktion» zu, die mit einer eindringlichen Technik – durch die das Leben zum Film und der Regisseur selbst zum Abbild wird – die Realität zu durchleuchten vermag. In eine ikonografische Betrachtung versetzt er uns auch mit Höhenfeuer (1985). Es ist ein Meisterwerk, mit dem er es schafft, das Unsagbare wie in einer griechischen Tragödie mit einem ethnografischen Blick zu thematisieren. Eine Synthese seines Werks und der Themen, die das Schweizer Kino prägen: der Konflikt zwischen Vater und Sohn, die Turbulenzen der Adoleszenz, die Flucht, die Persönlichkeitsentfaltung und die Erinnerung an ein archaisches Leben.

Das Schweizer Kino der Vergangenheit mit demjenigen der Zukunft zu verbinden, eine Kontinuität zu schaffen, die dem Schweizer Publikum und seinem Kinoerlebnis bisher noch fehlte – genau diesem einen Thema widmete sich Murer in seiner letzten Schaffensperiode. Mit den Spielfilmen Vollmond (1998), einem Autorenfilm mit dem Anspruch, grosses Kino zu sein; Vitus (2006), einem Manifest für die Kindheit, das ein breites Publikum berührte sowie Jetzt oder nie (2014), einer in Fiktion verborgenen Komödie in Form eines intimen Tagebuchs.

Die subtile Grenze zwischen Realität und Künstlichkeit, jener schwebende Moment, in dem die uns umgebende Welt durch künstlerische Kreativität zu «etwas anderem» wird, ist das, was ihn interessiert.

Domenico Lucchini

Nützliche Links

Follow us