News from the Locarno Festival
 

Applications for Open Doors 2017 are now open!

Following the pathway of discovery in South Asia, with a new focus for 2017

The presentation video of Open Doors Project 2016 – 2018, screened in Piazza Grande in 2016.

A new three-year formula was introduced in 2016 for Open Doors, the Festival del film di Locarno sidebar in collaboration with the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). The sidebar’s brief is to foster independent cinema and offer visibility to directors and filmmakers from countries in the South and East of the world, and in 2017 it is set to build on the success of the new formula by continuing its three-year research pathway on eight Southern Asian nations, with a special focus on Afghanistan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the Maldives. 

 

Open Doors activity during Festival Edition 2016

Share:

This will be the fifteenth edition of an initiative, which from the outset has enjoyed the collaboration of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs. The main features are screenings for the public, labs (dedicated workshops for emerging producers and filmmaker-producers) and the Hub, an international platform bundling eight selected projects from the region in focus, with a view to fostering partnerships and sourcing international funding for completion.

 

Film Cast of "Hema Hema" on stage in Piazza Grande

Share:

In line with the new formula established for 2016 to 2018, Open Doors is dedicating its program to a single global region for three consecutive years, further expanding the goal of partnership and exchange between industry players in the sector. The current three-year focus of the sidebar is on eight nations in South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Applications for the 2017 Open Doors Hub and Open Doors Lab will be received from 10 November 2016 to 7 February 2017, c/o www.pardo.ch/opendoors

 

Useful links

More info

Jobs
Contacts

Follow us

News from the Locarno Festival
 

Open Doors Anmeldungen sind geöffnet 2016 – 2018!

Die Entdeckungsreise durch Südasien geht weiter, mit einem neuen Fokus für 2017

The presentation video of Open Doors Project 2016 – 2018, screened at Piazza Grande in 2016.

Die erste Ausgabe der neuen Drei-Jahres-Formel von Open Doors am Festival del film Locarno war ein Erfolg. Die Initiative Open Doors arbeitet gemeinsam mit der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) des Bundes und dient dazu, unabhängige Filmschaffende aus südlichen und östlichen Teilen der Welt und deren Produktionen zu fördern und bekannt zu machen. Der laufende Zyklus konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf acht Länder aus dem südasiatischen Raum, wobei 2017 Afghanistan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka und die Malediven im Mittelpunkt stehen werden.

 

Open Doors activity during Festival Edition 2016

Share:

Die Open Doors Initiative des Festival del film Locarno wurde vor fünfzehn Jahren ins Leben gerufen und arbeitet seither mit der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) des eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten gemeinsam. Open Doors bietet öffentliche Vorführungen (Screenings), Workshops für aufstrebende Produzenten und Regisseure (Lab) sowie eine internationale Plattform für jeweils acht Filmprojekte aus der betroffenen Region mit dem Ziel, die internationale Zusammenarbeit und die Finanzierung einschlägiger Produktionen zu fördern (Hub).

 

Film Cast of "Hema Hema" on stage in Piazza Grande

Share:

Mit dem neuen Open-Doors-Konzept (2016 – 2018) will sich das Festival drei Jahre hintereinander auf einen einzigen geographischen Raum konzentrieren, was den Filmschaffenden eine nachhaltigere Zusammenarbeit und einen intensiveren Austausch ermöglicht. Der laufende Zyklus beleuchtet hauptsächlich acht Länder Südostasiens: Afghanistan, Bangladesch, Bhutan, die Malediven, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan und Sri Lanka, wobei sich 2017 der Fokus vorwiegend auf Afghanistan, die Malediven, Pakistan und Sri Lanka richtet.

Die Anmeldefrist für den Open Doors Hub und das Open Doors Lab läuft vom 10. November 2016 bis zum 7. Februar 2017 unter www.pardo.ch/opendoors.

Nützliche Links

More info

Jobs
Contacts

Follow us