Pardo alla carriera Ascona-Locarno

Since 2010, the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo alla carriera Ascona-Locarno pays tribute to one or more personalities whose artistic contributions have redefined cinema and the collective imagination. In addition to the Awards ceremony on the Piazza Grande, the tribute also comprises a conversation with the audience and a small retrospective.

Pardo alla carriera 2022 to Costa-Gavras

That the Pardo alla carriera should go to Costa-Gavras is virtually an obligation. He is, in all probability, the cineaste who has investigated most extensively the history of the 20th century, without ever being blinded by ideologies. Although regarded as a ‘political filmmaker’, Costa-Gavras is first and foremost a remarkable auteur, gifted with an extraordinary sense of form and style. Never one to wallow in self-referential mannerisms, he has tirelessly renewed his own gaze and approach. Costa-Gavras is the embodiment of a truly noble idea of cinema as a tool for progress and knowledge, a filmmaker who has never given up the conversation with his audience, always offering his candid version of amusement value and entertainment.

Giona A. Nazzaro

Past winners
  • 2010 Francesco Rosi
  • 2011 Claude Goretta, Bruno Ganz and Claudia Cardinale
  • 2012 Johnnie To, Harry Belafonte, and Peter-Christian Fueter
  • 2013 Sergio Castellito
  • 2014 Victor Erice
  • 2015 Marlen Khutsiev and Bulle Ogier
  • 2016 Mario Adorf and Jane Birkin
  • 2017 Jean-Marie Straub
  • 2019 Fredi M. Murer
  • 2021 Dante Spinotti
  • 2022 Costa-Gavras