Pardo d’onore Manor

For the last 30 years the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo d’onore has been awarded to masters of contemporary cinema; previous recipients include filmmakers of such stature as Manoel de Oliveira, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ken Loach, Jean-Luc Godard, Abbas Kiarostami, Terry Gilliam, Aleksandr Sokurov, William Friedkin, Alain Tanner, Jia Zhang-ke, Leos Carax, Werner Herzog, Agnès Varda, Michael Cimino, Marco Bellocchio and, in 2016, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jean-Marie Straub, Todd Haynes and, in 2018, Bruno Dumont.

Starting from 2017, Manor, Main partner of the Locarno Film Festival for the past 19 years, will support the Pardo d'onore.

Pardo d’onore Manor 2021 to John Landis

John Landis is a genuine American genius. The all-consuming cinephile passion, slapstick music, irresistible gags and visceral attachment to the B movie ethos, combined with acute critical sensibility and political awareness, made him a key figure in the renewal of American filmmaking between the Seventies and the Nineties. He hybridized horror and comedy, musical and noir, in a way never seen before. The resulting masterpieces captured enthusiastic audiences around the world, drawn by his fresh new filmic language and the challenges to conventional morality. Landis showed that you could do it all and dream it all, and in so doing he made cinema better, fairer, more inclusive. He provided a vector for the anxieties of the Sixties generation, giving them a new interpretation and creating a new kind of comedy merged with mutant physicality which – from John Belushi to the werewolves – rewrote the dominant aesthetic code. John Landis personifies the American cinema we have always loved and always will love. 

Giona A. Nazzaro 

Past winners
  • 1989 Ennio Morricone
  • 1990 Gian Maria Volonté
  • 1991 Jacques Rivette
  • 1992 Manoel de Oliveira
  • 1993 Samuel Fuller
  • 1994 Kira Muratova
  • 1995 Jean-Luc Godard
  • 1996 Werner Schroeter
  • 1997 Bernardo Bertolucci
  • 1998 Joe Dante
  • 1999 Daniel Schmid
  • 2000 Paul Verhoeven and Paolo Villaggio
  • 2001 Sundance Institute
  • 2002 Sydney Pollack
  • 2003 Ken Loach
  • 2004 Ermanno Olmi
  • 2005 Terry Gilliam, Abbas Kiarostami and Wim Wenders
  • 2006 Aleksandr Sokurov
  • 2007 Hou Hsiao-Hsien
  • 2008 Amos Gitai
  • 2009 William Friedkin
  • 2010 Alain Tanner and Jia Zhang-ke
  • 2011 Abel Ferrara 
  • 2012 Leos Carax and Johnnie To
  • 2013 Werner Herzog
  • 2014 Agnès Varda
  • 2015 Marco Bellocchio and Michael Cimino
  • 2016 Alejandro Jodorowsky
  • 2017 Jean-Marie Straub and Todd Haynes
  • 2018 Bruno Dumont
  • 2019 John Waters
  • 2021 John Landis