Kapag wala nang mga alon

(When the Waves Are Gone)

The Films After Tomorrow: International

Philippines, France, Portugal, Denmark

30 years ago two best friends rob a bank. Herminigildo goes to prison, Brigido returns to their home island with the money and becomes its tyrant ruler.

Present day. Herminigildo is set free after serving his sentence. He leaves the prison to go back to his home island on the eastern tip of the Philippines.

There, no one recognizes him. He plots his revenge. Herminigildo falls in love with Aling Maria, who works in a cabaret and is his best friends mistress. She introduces Herminigildo to Brigido who doesnt recognize him.

The more time goes by, the more Herminigildo becomes close to mayor Brigido and his family. He even protects Brigido by killing a man who was planning to denounce him for corruption.

The context forces Brigido to escape to Portugal. Herminigildo follows him there and finally reveals himself to Brigido. He kills him and his family. Wounded, he goes to the shore and lets the waves carry his body out to sea.

The production


Bianca Balbuena and Bradley Liew co-founded Epicmedia Productions in 2011, a Manila-based film company. They then produced That Thing Called Tadhana (2014), one of the the highest grossing independent films in Philippine box office history, Above the Clouds (2014) and Brotherhood (2009) by Pepe Diokno, Beast (2015) by Tom and Sam McKeith, and Singing in Graveyards (2016) by Bradley Liew. They are also known for producing the works of Lav Diaz, including his A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (2016), Alfred Bauer Award at Berlinale, and the musical Season of the Devil (2018), Berlinale 2018 Main Competition.


Jean-Christophe Simon founded Films Boutique in 2008, a world sales and production company. After working on the sales of films that won many awards, including the recent Golden Bear during Berlinale with There is No Evil (2020) by Mohammad Rasoulof, Films Boutique started a co-production activity. The first productions were Mia Madre (2015) by Nanni Moretti, in Cannes Competition, Birds Of Passage (2018) by Ciro Guerra and Cristina Gallego (Directors’ Fortnight in Cannes, shortlisted for the Oscars 2019), Farewell to the Night (2019) by André Téchiné (Berlinale Competition) and Verdict (2019) by Raymund Ribay Gutierrez (Venice Orizzonti jury award Winner).




Lav Diaz


Jean-Christophe Simon, Gabor Greiner


Bianca Balbuena, Bradley Liew, Joaquim Sapinho, Eva Jakobsen, Katrin Pors, Mikkel Jersin

Related biographie(s)
Related videos
Lav Diaz presents Kapag wala nang mga alon

Lav Diaz presents Kapag wala nang mga alon