Previous Next


Born in China in 1962, in 2001 ZHANG Lu made his first short, Eleven, which was selected for the Venice Film Festival. In 2003 he directed his first feature, Tang Poetry, which was selected for Locarno. His next film, Grain in Ear (2005) won the Prix ACID-CCAS at the Semaine de la Critique at Cannes. Desert Dream (2007) was selected for Berlin, as was Dooman River (2010), which obtained a Special Mention by the Youth Jury. In 2013 ZHANG Lu returned to Locarno with Over There, screened out of competition within the Jeonju Digital Project. Alongside his work as a filmmaker he has also published several novels, including Cicada Chirping Afternoon (1986).

2013 Pung-gyeong
2010 Dooman River
2007 Hyazgar
2005 Mang zhong
2003 Tang shi

Related films

Useful links

Follow us