Pardo alla Carriera

Since 2010, the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo alla carriera pays tribute to one or more personalities whose artistic contributions have redefined cinema and the collective imagination. In addition to the Awards ceremony on the Piazza Grande, the tribute also comprises a conversation with the audience and a small retrospective.

Past winners
  • 2010 Francesco Rosi
  • 2011 Claude Goretta, Bruno Ganz and Claudia Cardinale
  • 2012 Johnnie To, Harry Belafonte, and Peter-Christian Fueter
  • 2013 Sergio Castellito
  • 2014 Victor Erice
  • 2015 Marlen Khutsiev and Bulle Ogier
  • 2016 Mario Adorf and Jane Birkin
  • 2017 Jean-Marie Straub
  • 2019 Fredi M. Murer
  • 2021 Dante Spinotti