Pardo alla Carriera

Fredi M. Murer, Pardo alla Carriera 2019

Share:

Mario Adorf, Pardo alla Carriera 2016

Share:

Bulle Ogier, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Marlen Khutsiev, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Jean-Pierre Léaud, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Victor Erice, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Sergio Castellito, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Otar Iosseliani, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Previous Next

Pardo alla carriera for Fredi M. Murer

Twenty films, in a career stretching back over almost 60 years: a major filmography in step with – and often anticipating – periods of renewal in Swiss cinema. Since he first went into filmmaking, in Zurich in the 1960s, Fredi M. Murer has continued to be a modest, remarkable and committed personality, aloof from the bright lights of the entertainment world and impervious to the dictates of the box office.

His early work consisted of anti-conventional and anarchic film portraits, through which he discovered film not as a medium but as the very necessity of expression. Then he made Wir Bergler in den Bergen sind eigentlich nicht schuld, dass wir da sind (1974), a film that broke with the classic documentary codes and swept aside the commonplaces borrowed from pre-war Swiss cinema,that depicted mountains and pastoral life in their ontological certainties.

Zones (1979) was Murer’s first venture into fiction, for him an expedient to take an X-ray of reality using an immersive technique in which life is a film and the filmmaker an image. That same iconographical perspective is inherent in Alpine Fire (1985), a masterpiece in which his ethnographical gaze relentlessly evokes the unspeakable, as in a Greek tragedy. The film is a kind of synthesis of Murer’s own output and the recurrent themes of Swiss cinema: the conflict between father and son, the turmoil of adolescence, escape, realization of identity, the evocation of an archaic lifestyle.

Connecting the past of Swiss film to its future, in an attempt to establish a continuity still lacking in the Swiss movie-going public and its experience of cinema: this is the task which Murer has set himself in his late creative period, in a series of themed full-length fiction features: Vollmond (1998), which has the scale and scope of the mainstream, despite keeping to an auteur register; Vitus (2006), a manifestofor childhood that touched a broad audience; Now or Never (2014), a drama which has a kind of hidden diary embedded in its fiction.

Murer’s interest lies along the subtle confines between reality and artifice, in the timeless moment in which the world around us becomes, through artistic creativity, “something else”.

Domenico Lucchini

 

Since 2010, the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo alla carriera pays tribute to one or more personalities recognised for their outstanding contributions to the film sector. In addition to the Awards ceremony on the Piazza Grande, the tribute also comprises a conversation with the audience and a small retrospective.

Past winners: 

  • 2010 Francesco Rosi
  • 2011 Claude Goretta, Bruno Ganz and Claudia Cardinale
  • 2012 Johnnie To, Harry Belafonte, and Peter-Christian Fueter
  • 2013 Sergio Castellito
  • 2014 Victor Erice
  • 2015 Marlen Khutsiev and Bulle Ogier
  • 2016 Mario Adorf and Jane Birkin
  • 2019 Fredi M. Murer

Follow us

Pardo alla Carriera

Fredi M. Murer, Pardo alla Carriera 2019

Share:

Mario Adorf, Pardo alla Carriera 2016

Share:

Bulle Ogier, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Marlen Khutsiev, Pardo alla Carriera 2015

Share:

Jean-Pierre Léaud, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Victor Erice, Pardo alla Carriera 2014

Share:

Sergio Castellito, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Otar Iosseliani, Pardo alla Carriera 2013

Share:

Previous Next

Pardo alla carriera pour Fredi M. Murer

Près de 60 ans de carrière, 20 films; une œuvre importante qui marque, et souvent anticipe, les différentes étapes du renouveau de notre cinéma. Depuis ses débuts dans le cinéma, dans le Zurich des années 1960, Fredi M. Murer est resté une personne modeste, remarquable et engagée, mais loin des clameurs du spectacle et des diktats du box-office.

Ses premiers films sont des portraits, non-conventionnels et anarchistes, avec lesquels il découvre le cinéma, non pas comme un moyen mais comme la nécessité même de l’expression. Puis il tourne Wir Bergler in den Bergen sind eigentlich nicht schuld, dass wir da sind (1974), un film qui rompt avec les schémas classiques du documentaire, effaçant les clichés empruntés au cinéma suisse d’avant-guerre, des montagnes et des bergers héritiers de certitudes ontologiques.

Avec Grauzone (1979), il s’attèle à la fiction, qui devient un expédient pour passer la réalité aux rayons X, avec une technique immersive où la vie est un film et le réalisateur lui-même une image. L’âme sœur (1985), chef-d’œuvre dans lequel il parvient à évoquer l’indicible avec un regard ethnographique, comme dans une tragédie grecque, nous plonge aussi dans une perspective iconographique. Une somme de son œuvre et des thèmes qui caractérisent le cinéma suisse: le conflit entre père et fils, les bouleversements de l’adolescence, l’évasion, la réalisation de l’identité, l’évocation d’une vie archaïque.

Relier le cinéma suisse d’hier à celui de demain, créer une continuité qui fait, encore aujourd’hui, défaut au public suisse et à son expérience cinématographique, c’est ce que Murer s’est employé à faire dans sa dernière période de création, avec des longs métrages à thème: Pleine Lune (1998), qui a l’ambition du grand cinéma, tout en restant un film d’auteur; Vitus (2006), manifeste pour l’enfance qui a touché un large public; Jetzt oder Nie (2014), une comédie,  sorte de journal intime caché dans une fiction.

Ce qui l’intéresse, c’est la frontière subtile entre réalité et artifice, ce moment suspendu où le monde qui nous entoure devient, par la créativité artistique, «quelque chose de différent».

Domenico Lucchini

Liens utiles

Follow us