Moving Ahead

Moving Ahead Award to the best film 2019 “The Giverny Document (Single Channel)” by Ja'Tovia M. Gary


"Cocote" by Nelson Carlo De Los Santos Arias


"Ascent" by Fiona Tan


“Chi” (“Mr. Zhang Believes”) by Qiu Jiongjiong


“Al-Rakib Al-Khaled” (“The Immortal Sergeant”) directed by Ziad Kalthoum


Previous Next


As a tribute to Jonas Mekas, who recently passed away, Signs of Life changed its name to Moving Ahead, a tribute to his 2000 film As I Was Moving Ahead Occasionally I Saw Brief Glimpses of Beauty

Moving Ahead aims to explore film’s frontier territories, engaging with new forms of narration and innovation in filmic language. Works by both emerging and acknowledged filmmakers will be presented as world or international premieres in evening programs at the Kursaal.


Moving Ahead Award
CHF 5000 to the director

Follow us