Concorso Cineasti del presente

Pardo d’oro Concorso Cineasti del presente 2019 “Baamum Nafi (Nafi's Father)” by Mamadou Dia


Pardo d’oro Cineasti del presente "3/4 (Three Quarters)" by Ilian Metev


© Sutor Kolonko/Chaconna Films

The winner of Special Jury Prize "The Challenge" by Yuri Ancarani at Locarno in 2016


The winner of Premio Nescens 2016 "El auge del humano" by Eduardo Williams


“Le Êtres chers” by Anne Émond, in 2015 Concorso Cineasti del presente


In 2014, the Pardo d’oro in the Concorso Cineasti del presente goes to Mexican film “Navajazo”, directed by Ricardo Silva


Argentinian director Santiago Mitre’s “El estudiante” competes in the Concorso Cineasti del presente in 2011.


Nepalese film “Manakamana” (directed by Stephanie Spray and Pacho Velez) wins the Pardo d’oro Cineasti del presente in 2013.


American director Alex Ross Perry’s “The Color Wheel” competes in the Festival in 2011.


Italian-German film “The Special Need” (directed by Carlo Zoratti), at Locarno in 2013


Previous Next


An ideal arena for discovery, the Concorso Cineasti del presente is dedicated to emerging directors from all over the world and devoted to first, second and third features. Around fifteen feature films screening as world or international premieres, from documentary to fiction, compete for the Pardo d’oro Cineasti del presente.


Pardo d’oro Cineasti del presente (Cineasti del presente Golden Leopard) to the best film

35,000 CHF to be shared equally between the director and the producer, awarded to the best film of this competition, which is dedicated to first or second features.

Premio migliore regista emergente (Best Emerging Director Award) of the City and Region of Locarno

20,000 CHF for the best emerging director.

Premio speciale della giuria CINÉ+ Cineasti del presente (Special Jury Prize)

The French television channel CINÉ+ offers a promotional campaign to the value of CHF 25’000 at the time of its theatrical release in France. 

Swatch First Feature Awards

Swatch support the prizes awarded by a jury of international film critics to the two best first feature films, as world or international premieres, selected for all sections of the Festival, except for the independent sections Semaine de la critique and Panorama Suisse:

  • Swatch First Feature Award for the best first film: 15’000 CHF to the director;
  • The Swatch Art Peace Hotel Award: a special mention, with a 3 to 6 month residency in the Shanghai hotel of the same name.

Follow us