Leopard Club Award

Hilary Swank Leopard Club Award 2019

Share:

Adrien Brody Leopard Club Award 2017

Share:

Stefania Sandrelli, Leopard Club Award 2016

Share:

Andy Garcia, Leopard Club Award 2015

Share:

Mia Farrow, Leopard Club Award 2014

Share:

Faye Dunaway, Leopard Club Award 2013

Share:

Previous Next

Leopard Club Award to Hilary Swank

On ne pourra jamais accuser Hilary Swank de jouer les femmes passives. La formidable comédienne a bâti sa carrière en interprétant des personnages réels et des personnages fictifs, qui ont en commun une même détermination à renverser tous les obstacles susceptibles de se dresser sur leur chemin. Ce n’est pas seulement vrai de l’interprétation – décisive pour sa carrière – qu’elle donna de Brandon Teena, jeune transgender affrontant la violence des préjugés dans une petite ville du Nebraska, ou de sa victoire par K.O. dans le rôle d’une femme déterminée à devenir boxeuse professionnelle dans Million Dollar Baby (2004). Mais la cohérence de la carrière de Swank tient essentiellement dans le fait d’avoir porté à l’écran des femmes pleinement accomplies et autonomes.

Les femmes qu’elle joue ont toujours de l’emprise. Prenez Mary Bee Cuddy, le personnage qu’elle incarne dans le film de Tommy Lee Jones The Homesman (2014). Cuddy est une femme célibataire, traversant le pays en un épique voyage vers l’est, avec trois autres femmes et un cavalier arrogant. Dans Écrire pour exister (2007), elle est Erin Grunwell, une enseignante dont les méthodes uniques stimulent une classe de lycéens à risque. Dans Conviction (2010), elle est Betty Anne Waters, qui vient à bout d’une formation en droit pour devenir avocate et faire casser la condamnation à mort infondée de son frère. Et dans Amelia (2009), elle est Amelia Earhart, la pionnière de l’aviation, disparue alors qu’elle tentait de faire le tour du monde en avion et en solitaire.

Rien d’étonnant à ce que Swank fasse partie de la poignée de femmes qui ont remporté l’Oscar de la meilleure actrice à deux reprises. Elle choisit des rôles audacieux et exaltants et apporte des failles, une vulnérabilité et de subtiles nuances aux personnages de femmes qu’elle interprète. Alors qu’elle joue rarement le second violon derrière un protagoniste masculin, ses personnages ne sont pas pour autant de simples croisées, mais des femmes réelles, complexes et imparfaites.

Même si sa carrière continue à se développer, Swank est, à bien des égards, l’incarnation même de l’actrice moderne. À l’heure où la représentation des femmes à l’écran est examinée à la loupe, elle ouvre tranquillement la voie depuis deux décennies.

Mike Goodridge

Liens utiles

Follow us

Leopard Club Award

Hilary Swank Leopard Club Award 2019

Share:

Adrien Brody Leopard Club Award 2017

Share:

Stefania Sandrelli, Leopard Club Award 2016

Share:

Andy Garcia, Leopard Club Award 2015

Share:

Mia Farrow, Leopard Club Award 2014

Share:

Faye Dunaway, Leopard Club Award 2013

Share:

Previous Next

Leopard Club Award to Hilary Swank

You can never accuse Hilary Swank of playing passive women. The formidable actress has built a career playing both real and fictional characters whose common trait is a determination to overcome any hurdle thrown in their way. That’s not just the case in her career-defining performance as Brandon Teena, a transgender facing up to violent prejudice in small-town Nebraska, or her knockout turn as a woman driven to become a professional boxer in Million Dollar Baby (2004). But Swank has essentially made a coherent career of bringing fully realized, fully empowered women to the screen.

The women she plays always have agency. Take Mary Bee Cuddy, the character she embodies in Tommy Lee Jones’ The Homesman (2014). Cuddy is a single woman leading an epic journey eastwards with three other women and a claim jumper. In Freedom Writers (2007), she is Erin Gruwell, a teacher whose unique methods inspire a class of at-risk students. In Conviction (2010), she is Betty Anne Waters who puts herself through law school and becomes a lawyer in order to overturn her brother’s wrongful murder conviction. And in Amelia (2009), she is the legendary female aviation pioneer Earhart who disappeared while on her quest to fly solo around the world.

It’s no surprise that Swank is one of a handful of women to have won two Best Actress in a Leading Role Oscars. She handpicks roles which are bold and inspiring, and brings flaws, vulnerability and exquisite nuance to the women she plays. So, while she rarely plays second fiddle to a male lead, her women are not mere crusaders but real, complex, imperfect.

Even as her career continues to flourish, Swank is in many ways the epitome of the modern actress. In an age where representation of women on screen is under scrutiny, she has been quietly blazing a trail for two decades.

 Mike Goodridge

 

Named after the supporting association of the Festival, the Leopard Club Award pays tribute to someone in film whose work has left a mark on the collective imagination. 

Past winners: 

  • 2013 Faye Dunaway
  • 2014 Mia Farrow
  • 2015 Andy Garcia
  • 2016 Stefania Sandrelli
  • 2017 Adrien Brody
  • 2018 Meg Ryan
  • 2019 Hilary Swank

 

Follow us