Vision Award Ticinomoda

José Luis Alcaine, Vision Award 2017


Howard Shore, Vision Award 2016


Walter Murch, Vision Award 2015, mixing “Apocalypse Now” in 1979


Garrett Brown, Vision Award 2014


© Festival del film Locarno

Douglas Trumbull, Vision Award 2013


© Festival del film Locarno
Previous Next

The Vision Award Ticinomoda both highlights and pays tribute to someone whose creative work behind the scenes, as well as in their own right, has contributed to opening up new perspectives in film.
Following the award to special effects maestro Douglas Trumbull in 2013, the 67th edition of the Festival paid tribute to Garrett Brown, creator of the Steadicam® and in 2015 the prize went to Walter Murch, the triple Oscar winning editor and sound designer. In 2016, the Festival has awarded the great Canadian composer and conductor Howard Shore, in 2017 to the Spanish Director of Photography José Luis Alcaine while in 2018 the award was given to the American graphic designer Kyle Cooper.


Past winners: 

  • 2013 Douglas Trumbull
  • 2014 Garrett Brown
  • 2015 Walter Murch
  • 2016 Howard Shore
  • 2017 José Luis Alcaine
  • 2018 Kyle Cooper


Useful links

Follow us