News from the Locarno Festival
 

Leos Carax

Leos Carax

Share:

© Pierre Grise Productions / Camille De Chesnay

Leos Carax

Share:

Leos Carax

Share:

Leos Carax

Share:

Previous Next

Der französische Regisseur Leos Carax wird am kommenden Festival del film Locarno mit dem Pardo d’onore Swisscom ausgezeichnet.

Das Festival zeigt aus Anlass der Ehrung mit Boy Meets Girl (1984), Die Nacht ist jung ( Mauvais Sang ,1986), Die Liebenden von Pont-Neuf ( Les Amants du Pont-Neuf , 1991), Pola X (1999) und Holy Motors (2012) alle fünf Langfilme des Regisseurs. Auch der Kollektivfilm Tokyo! , zu dem Carax 2008 die Episode Merde beisteuerte, steht auf dem Programm. Am Tag nach der Preisverleihung auf der Piazza Grande erhält das Publikum Gelegenheit, Leos Carax während einem Gespräch persönlich zu begegnen.

Olivier Père, künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals, zeigt sich « sehr geehrt, einen der grössten Autoren des weltweiten Filmschaffens nach Locarno einzuladen zu können. Die wunderbaren Bilder von Boy Meets Girl und Die Nacht ist jung sind heute das überzeugendste ästhetische Manifest der 1980er-Jahre. Die Liebenden von Pont-Neuf i st ein traumhaft poetischer Film, dessen Anspruch seinesgleichen sucht. Pola X offenbart eine erschütternde Schönheit, Aufrichtigkeit und Tragweite – Leos Carax’ Meisterwerk. Holy Motors ist schon jetzt einer der besten Filme des Jahres: eine rasende Fahrt, in der Leben und Film verblüffende Gefühle und Visionen hervorbringen ».
Olivier Pères Blogeintrag zu Leos Carax (auf Französisch)
Olivier Pères Blogeintrag zu Holy Motors (auf Französisch und Englisch)

Der Pardo d’onore des Festival del film Locarno wird seit 24 Jahren an einzigartige Persönlichkeiten des zeitgenössischen Filmschaffens verliehen. Zu den bisherigen Preisträgern gehören u.a. die Regisseure Manoel de Oliveira, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ken Loach, Jean-Luc Godard, Abbas Kiarostami, Aleksandr Sokurov, Hou Hsiao-hsien, William Friedkin, Alain Tanner, JIA Zhang-ke und der 2011 geehrte Abel Ferrara.

Swisscom, Hauptsponsor des Festival del film Locarno seit 1998, unterstützt den Pardo d’onore bereits zum vierten aufeinanderfolgenden Mal.

Die 65. Ausgabe des Festival del film Locarno findet vom 1. bis 11. August 2012 statt.

Biografie von Leos Carax:

Der 1960 in Suresnes geborene Carax realisiert im Alter von 23 Jahren seinen ersten Langfilm, Boy Meets Girl (1984), der Publikum und Kritik gleichermassen begeistert und am Festival von Cannes auf Anhieb den Jugendpreis gewinnt. Bereits zwei Jahre später zeigt Carax Die Nacht ist jung (1986) mit Juliette Binoche, Michel Piccoli und seinem Lieblingsschauspieler Denis Lavant. Das Werk feiert ebenfalls internationale Erfolge und wird in Frankreich mit dem Prix Louis Delluc sowie an der Berlinale 1987 mit dem Alfred Bauer-Preis ausgezeichnet. Leos Carax dreht anschliessend mit Juliette Binoche und Denis Lavant Die Liebenden von Pont-Neuf (1991), eine wunderschöne Liebesgeschichte, mit der er wiederum an der Berlinale teilnimmt. Die Dreharbeiten zu diesem Kultfilm – einer der grössten Produktionen der französischen Filmgeschichte – werden durch zahlreiche Zwischenfälle, Probleme und Unterbrechungen überschattet. Sie geraten zum Fass ohne Boden, das auch die zustimmende Aufnahme durch Kritik und Publikum nicht ausfüllen kann. Carax’ nächster Film Pola X (1999), mit Guillaume Depardieu, Katerina Golubeva und Catherine Deneuve nach einer Vorlage von Herman Melville inszeniert, bekräftigt den einzigartigen romantischen und visuellen Anspruch des Filmemachers. Leider wird dieser Meilenstein des zeitgenössischen französischen Films in Cannes schlecht angenommen und zu einem kommerziellen Misserfolg. Nachdem Carax dem Film für einige Zeit den Rücken gekehrt hat, nimmt er an der Seite von Michel Gondry und Bong Joon-ho mit der Episode Merde am Kollektivfilm Tokyo! (2008) teil.
Das Jahr 2012 markiert mit Holy Motors (2012), wiederum mit Denis Lavant, jedoch nun in einer Runde mit Edith Scob, Eva Mendes und Kylie Minogue, Carax’ grosses Comeback als Regisseur. Der Film wird am Filmfestival Cannes im Wettbewerb gezeigt.

Press Office
Nützliche Links

Follow us

News from the Locarno Festival
 

Leos Carax

Leos Carax

Share:

© Pierre Grise Productions / Camille De Chesnay

Leos Carax

Share:

Leos Carax

Share:

Leos Carax

Share:

Previous Next

French director Leos Carax will receive the Pardo d’onore Swisscom at the forthcoming edition of the Festival del film Locarno.

To mark the occasion, the filmmaker’s five features – Boy Meets Girl (1984), Bad Blood (Mauvais Sang, 1986), The Lovers on the Bridge (Les Amants du Pont-Neuf, 1991), Pola X (1999)and Holy Motors (2012) ­­– will be screened, as well as the portmanteau film Tokyo!, to which he contributed the segment Merde in 2008. On the day after the award ceremony on the Piazza Grande, the Festival audience will have the opportunity to participate in a conversation with the filmmaker.

Olivier Père, the Festival del film Locarno’s Artistic director, comments that he is « greatly honoured to invite one of world cinema’s greatest creatives to Locarno. The superb Boy Meets Girl and Bad Blood remain the most convincing aesthetic manifestos of the 1980s, The Lovers on the Bridgea dream of poetic cinema of unequalled ambition while, for me, Pola X, stunning in its beauty, sincerity and scope, is Leos Carax’s masterpiece. As for Holy Motors it is clearly already one of the best films of the year, a dazzling journey that combines life and cinema, full of emotion and breathtaking vision».
Read Olivier Père’s blog on Leos Carax (in French)
Read Olivier Père’s blog on Holy Motors  (in English)

For the last 24 years the Festival del film Locarno’s Pardo d’onore has been awarded to a master of contemporary cinema; previous recipients include filmmakers of such stature as Manoel de Oliveira, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ken Loach, Jean-Luc Godard, Abbas Kiarostami, Aleksandr Sokurov, Hou Hsiao-hsien, William Friedkin, Alain Tanner, JIA Zhang-ke and, in 2011,  Abel Ferrara.

Swisscom, main sponsor of the Festival del film Locarno since 1998, supports the Pardo d’onore for the fourth consecutive year.

The 65th edition of the Festival del film Locarno will take place 1- 11 August 2012.

Leos Carax biography:

Born in Suresnes in 1960, Leos Carax made, at the age of 23, his first feature, Boy Meets Girl (1984); greeted with enthusiasm by both audiences and critics alike, it won the Award of the Youth at the Cannes Festival. Two years later Carax directed his second film, Bad Blood (1986) which was likewise an international success, starring Juliette Binoche, Michel Piccoli and his favourite actor Denis Lavant. The film won the Louis Delluc Prize in France and the Alfred Bauer Award at Berlin in 1987. Carax followed this with The Lovers on the Bridge (1991), one of the biggest productions ever in French cinema history, a legendary opus and a superb love story, the making of which was subject to numerous incidents, problems and interruptions, turning into a financial black hole, that its critical and public acclaim did not manage to eclipse. The Lovers on the Bridge, starring Juliette Binoche and Denis Lavant, was screened in competition at the Berlin Festival. Pola X (1999), an adaptation of Herman Melville, with Guillaume Depardieu, Katerina Golubeva and Catherine Deneuve demonstrated a stunning  visual and narrative ambition. This landmark in contemporary French film was, sadly, punished by box-office failure on its release. After a period away from film, Carax made the episode Merde for the portmanteau film Tokyo! (2008) alongside Michel Gondry and Bong Joon-ho.

2012 marks his triumphant return to mise en scène with Holy Motors (2012), once again starring Denis Lavant, alongside Edith Scob, Eva Mendes and Kylie Minogue. The film was screened in competition at the Cannes Festival.

 

 

Press Office
Useful links

Follow us