News from the Locarno Festival
 

Roman Polanski, ein Maestro des Kinos in Locarno

Roman Polanski, ein Maestro des Kinos in Locarno

Share:

© Guy Ferrandis

 

Mit Roman Polanski und Emmanuelle Seigner kann das Festival del film Locarno für seine 67. Ausgabe weitere Ehrengäste begrüssen. Der Regisseur, der als eine der einflussreichsten Figuren der Kinogeschichte gilt, bereichert das Programm mit einer Masterclass.

Regisseur, Darsteller, Produzent und Schriftsteller: Roman Polanski hat die Geschichte des modernen Kinos geprägt. Sein unverwechselbarer Humor und seine Fähigkeit, alle stilistischen Register zu ziehen und seiner Vision dennoch treu zu bleiben, machen ihn zu einem Meister dieser Kunst. Zu einem Meister, der auch die jungen Filmemacher tief zu beeinflussen vermag. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat Roman Polanski unvergessliche Filme mit hervorragenden Schauspielern realisiert, darunter Catherine Deneuve in Repulsion (1965), Mia Farrow in Rosemary’s Baby (1968), Jack Nicholson in Chinatown (1974), Adrian Brody in Der Pianist (2002), Emmanuelle Seigner in Venus im Pelz (2013).

Roman Polanski wird in Locarno mit einer speziellen Anerkennung geehrt. Ausserdem hält er fürs Festivalpublikum und die jungen Filmemacher der Locarno Summer Academy eine Masterclass, die am Freitag 15. August um 16.15 Uhr im Kino La Sala stattfinden wird.

Am Abend des 14. August präsentiert Roman Polanski mit Emmanuelle Seigner den gemeinsamen Film Venus im Pelz auf der Piazza Grande.

Carlo Chatrian, künstlerischer Direktor des Festivals: “Roman Polanskis Filme sind ein Teil meines Lebens. Er brachte mich zum Lachen, zum Schaudern, zum Denken und manchmal vermochten seine Filme mich auch zutiefst zu bewegen. Es freut mich ausserordentlich, dass dieser einzigartige Schöpfer, der es geschafft hat, die Geschehnisse des eigenen Lebens in Kreativität umzusetzen, von Emmanuelle Seigner, seiner Ehefrau und Schauspielerin, begleitet wird. Ihre Rollen in Filmen wie Frantic, Luna di fiele und Essential Killing liegen mir sehr am Herzen. Zudem macht mich Polanskis Entscheid, den vom Festival eingeschlagenen Bildungsweg zu unterstützen, sehr stolz. Denn Kino heisst auch Wissen zu vermitteln. Von den Maestros unserer Masterclasses erwarten wir keine hochintellektuellen Vorträge, sondern das Weitergeben von eigenen Erfahrungen. Ich bin überzeugt, dass die Gelegenheit, einem Filmemacher zu begegnen, der jeglichem Dogmatismus abgeneigt ist, zu den spannendsten und interessantesten Momenten des Festival gehören wird.

Das 67. Festival del film Locarno findet vom 6. bis 16. August 2014 statt.

 

Press Office
Nützliche Links

More info

Jobs
Contacts

Follow us

News from the Locarno Festival
 

Roman Polanski, the film Maestro at Locarno

Roman Polanski, the film Maestro at Locarno

Share:

© Guy Ferrandis

 

One of the most influential figures in film history, Roman Polanski, accompanied by the actress Emmanuelle Seigner, will be a guest of honor at the 67° Festival del film Locarno, where he will give a talk about film that is open to the public.

Director, actor, producer and screenwriter, Roman Polanski has had a profound impact on the history of modern cinema. His unmistakable humor and ability to master such a range of different styles, while always retaining a coherent vision of cinema, makes him a master of the art, and he has had a powerful influence on younger generations of filmmakers. Over the course of his career Roman Polanski has produced so many unforgettable films, marked by superb performances: Catherine Deneuve in Repulsion (1965), Mia Farrow in Rosemary’s Baby (1968), Jack Nicholson in Chinatown (1974), Adrian Brody in The Pianist (2002), Emmanuelle Seigner in Venus in Fur (2013).

Roman Polanski will receive a special award, and hold a masterclass with the young filmmakers of the Locarno Summer Academy and all the Festival public. The event is planned to take place on Friday 15 August at La Sala at 16:15.

Along with Emmanuelle Seigner, Roman Polanski will introduce the screening of Venus in Fur that will conclude the evening of Thursday 14 August on the Piazza Grande.

Carlo Chatrian, the Festival’s Artistic Director, comments: “Roman Polanski’s films have been a regular feature of my trajectory as a filmgoer - making me laugh, shiver, think, and be emotionally moved. It has been an enormous pleasure to follow the work of this unique artist who has managed to translate turning points in his own life so creatively, and that of Emmanuelle Seigner, his wife and star of films that mean so much to me, such as Frantic, Bitter Moon and Essential Killing. Finally I am very proud of Polanski’s choice to support the education and training program that the Festival has organizes. Cinema is also about passing on knowledge: we do not ask the masters to hand down lessons from on high but to share their experiences. I am sure that the opportunity to meet a filmmaker who resists all forms of dogmatism will prove to be one of the most exciting moments of the Festival.

The 67th edition of the Festival del film Locarno will take place August 6 – 16.

 

Press Office
Useful links

Follow us