ICDN Casting Director Award

ICDN Casting Director Award: the 2017 nominees


ICDN Casting Director Award


Previous Next


After a successful launch in 2016, the Locarno Festival hosted the second edition of the ICDN Casting Director Award in 2017, in partnership with the International Casting Directors Network (ICDN). Today the ICDN, originally founded in 2005 in the context of the European Shooting Stars project at the Berlinale, is independent and the first association of international casting directors worldwide. The mission of the ICDN is to promote the profession of the casting director and improve its standards in every country and to establish the casting director as a head of department in its own right.



The Award ceremony took place on Thursday, August 3rd, 2017 at 6.30pm at La Rinascente. ICDN Board members Anja Dihrberg, Timka Grahic, Beatrice Kruger and Debbie McWilliams were present to introduce the winner.

The Jury awarded Harika Uygur for MUSTANG by Deniz Gamze Ergüven.


The 83 members of the International Casting Directors Network elected this year’s winner among 18 nominated casting directors:

  • Austria: Nicole Schmied, Die Hölle / Inferno by Stefan Ruzowitzky, 2017
  • France: Youna de Peretti, Victoria by Justine Triet, 2016
  • Germany: Nina Haun, Toni Erdmann by Maren Ade, 2016
  • Israel: Esther Kling, One Week and a Day by Asaph Polonsky, 2016
  • Italy: Francesco Vedovati, Pericle Il Nero by Stefano Mordini, 2016
  • Ireland: Frank Moiselle & Nuala Moiselle, The Secret Scripture by Jim Sheridan, 2015
  • Netherlands: Rebecca van Unen, Layla M by Mijke de Jung, 2016
  • Norway: Celine Engebrigtsen, Framing Mom by Sara Johnson, 2016
  • Poland: Marta Kownacka, The Art of Loving. Story of Michalina Wislocka by Maria Sadowska, 2017
  • Romania: Viorica Capdefier, Scarred Hearts by Radu Jude, 2016
  • Spain: Luci Lennox, Realive by Mateo Gil, 2016
  • Sweden: Jeanette Klintberg, A Serious Game by Pernilla August, 2016
  • Switzerland: Corinna Glaus & Ruth Hirschfeld & Beatrice Kruger, The Divine Order by Petra Biondina Volpe, 2017
  • Turkey: Harika Uygur & Kristin Diehle, Mustang by Deniz Gamze Ergüven, 2015
  • United Kingdom: Gail Stevens, T2 Trainspotting by Danny Boyle, 2017
  • United States: Avy Kaufman, A Bigger Splash by Luca Guadagnino, 2015



Follow us