Previous Next

Ruy Guerra

Born in 1931 in Mozambique, Ruy Guerra studied at the Institut des hautes études cinématographiques (IDHEC) in Paris and started his career as an assistant director. He immigrated to Brazil, where he directed his first feature, Os Cafajestes (1962), which was selected at Berlin, as were The Guns (1964) and A Queda (1976), both winners of a Silver Bear. He then returned to Mozambique, where he shot Mueda, Memória e Massacre (1979), the country’s first feature film, and where he helped create the National Institute for Cinema. In 2000, Turbulence was nominated for the Golden Palm in Cannes; it was his third selection at the Festival after Eréndira (1983) and Kuarup (1989).

2005 O Veneno da Madrugada
2004 Portugal S.A.
2000 Monsanto
2000 Estorvo
1992 Me alquilo para soñar
1989 Kuarup
1988 Fábula de la Bella Palomera
1986 Malandro
1983 Eréndira
1981 A Carta Roubada
1979 Mueda, Memória e Massacre
1976 A Queda
1970 Ternos Caçadores
1970 Os Deuses e os Mortos
1964 Os Fuzis
1962 Os Cafajestes
1954 Quand le soleil dort

Follow us