Press Releases  ·  20 | 07 | 2020

“A Journey in the Festival’s History” charted by the filmmakers competing for the Pardi 2020

Content language:





The major directors of the projects selected for The Films After Tomorrow will also be key players in a new section for Locarno 2020: A Journey in the Festival’s History. The filmmakers of films “on hold” have been tasked with picking twenty emblematic titles to represent the event’s history. Their choices stretch back over 70 years, from 1946 to 2019. All of them will be available for viewing online throughout Switzerland, while ten titles will be shown in theaters in Locarno; these screenings will take place from 5 through 15 August at the GranRex, PalaCinema and PalaVideo. Thanks to the Festival’s partnership with curated streaming service MUBI, viewers in many other countries worldwide will also be able to follow along on this cinematic journey at the same time.

From the future of projects on hold to movies from the Festival’s past

The line-up for The Films After Tomorrow does not merely extend the horizons of the Locarno Film Festival to include support for films in development and production. It is now also the starting point for a look back at the past as well, through the specific tastes and visions of these directors. The filmmakers picked for the section have been asked to choose one film from past editions of the Locarno Film Festival that astonished, fascinated or inspired them. The result is the season of titles that form A Journey in the Festival’s History, a program that traverses the over 70 years of Festival history from 1946 to 2019.

Lili Hinstin, Artistic Director of the Locarno Film Festival: “It would be an impossible task to present a review of the history of the Locarno Film Festival in its entirety: the international full-length features selected since 1946 would add up to over 1,400 titles on their own. Cinephile history, like that of all the arts, is shaped by hidden and unexpected connections between periods, genres and aesthetics. This is the subjective journey that the Festival invites you to join us on this year, a journey led by the gaze of today’s filmmakers, who will also be the creators of the cinema of tomorrow.

The films will be available free online throughout Switzerland on the Festival website, and also in a multiple territories worldwide thanks to curated streaming service MUBI, the global benchmark for contemporary cinephiles and our exclusive VOD partner for this program. Alongside this collaboration, MUBI also begins its fifth Direct from Locarno global special in August featuring films hand-picked from last year’s edition.

Ten of the twenty titles selected will also be presented at Locarno in physical screenings in theaters, also thanks to prints made available by Cinémathèque suisse, again from 5 through 15 August, with the season hosted at the PalaCinema and GranRex in Locarno and PalaVideo in Muralto.

The titles selected for A Journey in the Festival’s History

Below is the line-up of the 20 films chosen by directors in The Films After Tomorrow section. Ten of the titles will be shown in theaters at Locarno as well as online.

Germania, anno zero by Roberto Rossellini – Italy/France/Germany – 1948


Grand Prix, Prize for best original screenplay (ex æquo), and Best director (second prize)

Picked by Pierre-François Sauter

Online and physical screening

Comizi d’amore, by Pier Paolo Pasolini – Italy – 1964


picked by Anna Luif

Online screening

Terra em transe (Entranced Earth), by Glauber Rocha – Brazil – 1967


Youth Jury Grand Prix, FIPRESCI International Critics’ Prize, and Swiss Critics’ Prize

picked by Lisandro Alonso

Online and physical screening

Charles mort ou vif, by Alain Tanner – Switzerland – 1969


Pardo d’oro and Youth Jury prize

picked by Raphaël Dubach and Mateo Ybarra

Online and physical screening

Invasión, by Hugo Santiago – Argentina – 1969


International Jury Special Mention

picked by Andreas Fontana

Online and physical screening

In Gefahr und größter Not bringt der Mittelweg den Tod, by Alexander Kluge and Edgar Reitz – Federal Republic of Germany – 1974


picked by Juliana Rojas 

Online screening


India Song, by Marguerite Duras – France – 1975


picked by Helena Wittmann

Online screening

Mababangong Bangungot (Perfumed Nightmare), by Kidlat Tahimik – Philippines – 1977


picked by Verena Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Online screening

E Nachtlang Füürland, by Clemens Klopfenstein and Remo Legnazzi – Switzerland – 1981


picked by Michael Koch

Online and physical screening

Stranger Than Paradise, by Jim Jarmusch – USA/Federal Republic of Germany – 1984


Grand Prix Pardo d’oro, Grand Prix of the City of Locarno, Ecumenical and Youth Jury Special Mentions

picked by Marí Alessandrini

Online and physical screening

Kǒng bù fèn zǐ (The Terrorizers), by Edward Yang – Taiwan – 1986


Special Jury Grand Prix, Pardo d’argento, Second Prize of the City of Locarno

picked by Eric Baudelaire

Online screening

O Bobo, by José Alvaro Morais – Portugal – 1987


Grand Prix Pardo d’oro, Grand Prix of the City of Locarno and CICAE Jury Prize

picked by Miguel Gomes

Online screening

Der siebente Kontinent, by Michael Haneke – Austria – 1989


Pardo di bronzo, Ernest Artaria Prize, Fourth Prize of the City of Locarno

picked by Lav Diaz

Online and physical screening

Metropolitan, by Whit Stillman – USA – 1990


Pardo d’argento, Special Jury Grand Prix and Second Prize of the City of Locarno

picked by Axelle Ropert

Online and physical screening

Rapado, by Martín Rejtman – Argentina/Netherlands – 1992


picked by Lucrecia Martel

Online screening

Au nom du Christ, by Roger Gnoan M’Bala – Ivory Coast/Switzerland – 1993


Youth Jury “Environment is quality of life Prize

picked by Mohammed Soudani 

Online and physical screening

Noon-o-goldoon (A Moment of Innocence), by Mohsen Makhmalbaf – Iran/France – 1996


Youth jury second prize “Nouveau cinéma” and Official’s Jury Special Mention

picked by Miko Revereza

Online screening

Cavalo Dinheiro (Horse Money), by Pedro Costa – Portugal – 2014


Pardo for Best Director

picked by WANG Bing 

Online screening

No Home Movie, by Chantal Akerman – Belgium/France – 2015


picked by Cyril Schäublin

Online screening

M, by Yolande Zauberman – France – 2018


Special Jury Prize and Youth Jury “Environment is quality of life” prize

picked by Elie Grappe

Online and physical screening

Full details on how to obtain tickets and on hygiene and sanitary requirements in theaters will be announced on the website of the Locarno Film Festival from 29 July. The special edition Locarno 2020 – For the Future of Films will take place from 5 through 15 August both online and in its physical format in theaters in Locarno and Muralto (PalaCinema 1, GranRex and PalaVideo).

A Journey in the Festival’s History Presskit

Support the festival now with a donation