Press Releases

The Official Juries of the 64th Festival

The line-up for the 64th Festival del film Locarno Juries has been finalized.

Heading the Concorso internazionale Jury will be Portuguese producer Paulo Branco (Francisca by Manoel de Oliveira, 1981; In the White City by Alain Tanner, 1983; Come and Go by João César Monteiro, 2003; Mysteries of Lisbon by Raoul Ruiz, 2010), who was the winner of the very first Raimondo Rezzonico Prize in 2002. Also serving on the jury to assess the twenty or so full-length features in competition will be French actor and director Louis Garrel (The Dreamers by Bernardo Bertolucci, 2003; Regular Lovers by Philippe Garrel, 2005; Les Chansons d’Amour by Christophe Honoré, 2007), German actress Sandra Hüller (Requiem by Hans-Christian Schmid, 2006; Brownian Movement by Nanouk Leopold, 2010), Swiss filmmaker Bettina Oberli (Im Nordwind, 2004; Late Bloomers, 2006; The Murder Farm, 2009) and Italian actress Jasmine Trinca (The Best of Youth by Marco Tullio Giordana, 2003; The Caiman by Nanni Moretti, 2006; Ultimatum by Alain Tasma, 2009).

The Jury for the Concorso Cineasti del presente will be presided over by German director Christoph Hochhäusler (This Very Moment, 2003; I Am Guilty, 2005; The City Below, 2010), joined by Italian director Michelangelo Frammartino (The Gift, 2003; The Four Times, 2010), Filipino director Raya Martin (Autohystoria, 2007; Independencia, 2009), Chinese producer Zhu Rikun (Karamay di Xu Xin, 2010) and the Greek producer and director Athina Rachel Tsangari (Dogtooth by Giorgos Lanthimos, 2009; Attenberg, 2010).

Presiding over the Pardi di domani section, reserved for short subjects by directors who have yet to make a full-length feature, will be Indu Shrikent, film critic and director of the Osian’s Cinefan Film Festival of Asian and Arab Cinema (India), who will be judging entries in the national and international competition along with the Georgian director Bakur Bakuradze (Shultes, 2008; The Hunter, 2011 ), Israeli director and film critic Tom Shoval (Petach Tikva, 2007), Swiss producer Luc Toutounghi (Peter & the Wolf, 2006; The Lost Town of Switez, 2011) and the French filmmaker Rebecca Zlotowski (Dear Prudence, 2010).

Lastly, the film critics Anthony Bobeau (France), Robert Koehler (USA) and Kong Rithdee (Thailand) will be called on to select the Best First Film from among the titles presented in the Concorso internazionale, the Concorso Cineasti del presente and in Piazza Grande.

Festival del film Locarno Awards

The full program for the 64th Festival will be announced on 13 July 2011.
The 64th Festival del film Locarno will be held from 3 through 13 August 2011.


Press Office
64° Festival del film Locarno
3-13 | 8 | 2011
Via Ciseri 23 | CH-6601 Locarno
tel +41 91 756 21 21 | fax +41 91 756 21 49 |


Support the festival now with a donation