Raimondo Rezzonico Award

From its inception until the present day, cinema could not have surprised us so much without the courage, audacity and prescient gaze of those who have chosen to support freethinking and visionary projects. This is why, since 2002, the Locarno Film Festival has awarded the Raimondo Rezzonico Award to figures who have played a major role in international production.

The award ceremony, held in the prestigious setting of Piazza Grande, is paired with a program of representative titles from the careers of the past awardeed, as well as occasions during which the public is invited to delve more deeply into their work. In recent years, thanks to the awards given to Mike Medavoy, Arnon Milchan, Jeremy Thomas, Ted Hope, Gale Anne Hurd and Jason Blum, a journey has been undertaken among the most innovative realities of international production. A journey that will resume its course during the 2024 edition, with the new Raimondo Rezzonico Award: Stacey Sher.

2024: Raimondo Rezzonico Award to Stacey Sher

Few producers can claim that their films not only drastically altered the landscape of American independent filmmaking but also seemed to define the tenor of an entire decade. Stacey Sher is one such individual, responsible – with her producing partners Danny DeVito and Michael Shamberg – for ushering into being such paradigmatic films of the 1990s as Pulp Fiction (1994), Get Shorty (1995), Matilda (1996), Gattaca (1997), and Out of Sight (1998). Meanwhile her credits this century are no less impressive, given that they include an expansion and deepening of her collaborations with Quentin Tarantino and Steven Soderbergh, as well as other artistic pairings with Oliver Stone, Cate Blanchett, Bradley Cooper, Liam Neeson, Chris Pine, and so many other names from the upper echelon of the industry. Stacey Sher’s work over three decades has profoundly reshaped our collective notions of independent cinema, and her desire to challenge what is still possible in filmmaking remains in abundant evidence. 

Past winners
  • 2002 Paulo Branco
  • 2003 Ruth Waldburger
  • 2004 Karl Baumgartner
  • 2005 Jeremy Thomas
  • 2006 Agat Films
  • 2007 Lita Stantic
  • 2008 Christine Vachon
  • 2009 Martine Marignac
  • 2010 Menahem Golan
  • 2011 Mike Medavoy
  • 2012 Arnon Milchan
  • 2013 Margaret Ménégoz
  • 2014 Nansun Shi
  • 2015 Office Kitano
  • 2016 David Linde
  • 2017 Michel Merkt 
  • 2018 Ted Hope
  • 2019 Komplizen Film Production
  • 2021 Gale Anne Hurd
  • 2022 Jason Blum
  • 2023 Marianne Slot
  • 2024 Stacey Sher