Leopard Club Award

Named after the Association which supports the Festival, the Leopard Club Award pays homage to the protagonists of contemporary cinema.

The Leopard Club Award 2023 was presented to Swedish actor Stellan Skarsgård, who accepted the award on June 16, 2023. After the strike called by SAG-AFTRA on July 14, 2023, the awardee decided to forego the award in solidarity with the demands of the affected professional groups for fair salaries and fair shares of profits.

Understanding and always supporting the necessity to promote and enhance the working environment of all professionals involved in the production of a film, the Locarno Film Festival respectfully accepts the awardee’s decision.

Leopard Club Award 2023 to Stellan Skarsgård

Stellan Skarsgård belongs to the tradition of European actors who have distinguished themselves between auteur cinema and Hollywood. Endowed with a very powerful stage charisma, he has been able to make every role he has played unforgettable. Capable of reinventing his character according to the needs of the director and the script, he was able to inject his personality into films that were extremely different from each other. A central figure in the cinema of recent decades, the Locarno Film Festival is proud to present the Leopard Club Award to an actor of such absolute value and with such an extremely important filmography as Stellan Skarsgård.

Giona A. Nazzaro 

Past winners
  • 2013 Faye Dunaway
  • 2014 Mia Farrow
  • 2015 Andy Garcia
  • 2016 Stefania Sandrelli
  • 2017 Adrien Brody
  • 2018 Meg Ryan
  • 2019 Hilary Swank
  • 2021 Kasia Smutniak
  • 2022 Daisy Edgar-Jones
  • 2023 Stellan Skarsgård