Pardo d’Onore Manor

For the last 33 years the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo d’onore has been awarded to one of the most outstanding personalities of cinema ever previous recipients include filmmakers of such stature as Manoel de Oliveira, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ken Loach, Jean-Luc Godard, Abbas Kiarostami, Terry Gilliam, Aleksandr Sokurov, William Friedkin, Alain Tanner, Jia Zhang-ke, Leos Carax, Werner Herzog, Agnès Varda, Michael Cimino, Marco Bellocchio, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jean-Marie Straub, Todd Haynes, Bruno Dumont and, John Waters, John Landis, Kelly Reichardt, Harmony Korine, and in 2024 Jane Campion.

Since 2017, the Pardo d’onore award has been supported by Manor, partner of the Locarno Film Festival. 

Pardo d’Onore Manor 2024 to Jane Campion

With her directorial debut, Sweetie (1989), Jane Campion asserted herself from the start as a distinctive and unmistakable voice. More than thirty years later, the values and singular qualities of her filmmaking remain undiminished. Campion has sustained genuine complexity in her artistic practice, free to weave a dialogue with audiences and with the film industry in which she works without ever compromising on her vision and her artistic ambitions. Her work, peopled with tortured, fascinating characters and marked by an astonishing skill in grappling with the more disturbing side of the human condition, represents one of the undisputed pinnacles of contemporary filmmaking. Jane Campion’s artistic freedom and willingness to take risks to find new and deeper insights into the richness and complexities of human experience make her an unparalleled point of reference for anybody who thinks of film as an instrument of expression and emancipation.

Past winners
  • 1989 Ennio Morricone
  • 1990 Gian Maria Volonté
  • 1991 Jacques Rivette
  • 1992 Manoel de Oliveira
  • 1993 Samuel Fuller
  • 1994 Kira Muratova
  • 1995 Jean-Luc Godard
  • 1996 Werner Schroeter
  • 1997 Bernardo Bertolucci
  • 1998 Joe Dante
  • 1999 Daniel Schmid
  • 2000 Paul Verhoeven and Paolo Villaggio
  • 2001 Sundance Institute
  • 2002 Sydney Pollack
  • 2003 Ken Loach
  • 2004 Ermanno Olmi
  • 2005 Terry Gilliam, Abbas Kiarostami and Wim Wenders
  • 2006 Aleksandr Sokurov
  • 2007 Hou Hsiao-Hsien
  • 2008 Amos Gitai
  • 2009 William Friedkin
  • 2010 Alain Tanner and Jia Zhang-ke
  • 2011 Abel Ferrara 
  • 2012 Leos Carax
  • 2013 Werner Herzog
  • 2014 Agnès Varda
  • 2015 Marco Bellocchio and Michael Cimino
  • 2016 Alejandro Jodorowsky
  • 2017 Jean-Marie Straub and Todd Haynes
  • 2018 Bruno Dumont
  • 2019 John Waters
  • 2021 John Landis
  • 2022 Kelly Reichardt
  • 2023 Harmony Korine
  • 2024 Jane Campion