Pardo d’onore Manor

For the last 33 years the Locarno Film Festival's Pardo d’onore has been awarded to one of the most outstanding personalities of cinema ever previous recipients include filmmakers of such stature as Manoel de Oliveira, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ken Loach, Jean-Luc Godard, Abbas Kiarostami, Terry Gilliam, Aleksandr Sokurov, William Friedkin, Alain Tanner, Jia Zhang-ke, Leos Carax, Werner Herzog, Agnès Varda, Michael Cimino, Marco Bellocchio, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jean-Marie Straub, Todd Haynes, Bruno Dumont and, John Waters, John Landis, Kelly Reichardt, and in 2023 Harmony Korine.

Since 2017, the Pardo d’onore award has been supported by Manor, partner of the Locarno Film Festival. 

Pardo d’onore Manor 2023 to Harmony Korine

Harmony Korine is hard to pin down, difficult to categorize as a filmmaker, but he is an artist whose touch is unmistakable in whatever form. A rebellious anarchist – both dangerous and poetic in his amused, cultivated radicalism – Korine redefined the term “maverick” in U.S. cinema, without ever losing the smile on his face or the sheer fun of it all. An auteur in the present indicative. Now that a key cult movie like Spring Breakers has chalked up its tenth anniversary, giving the Pardo d’onore Manor award to Korine is a celebration of the infinite forms of cinema. 

Giona A. Nazzaro

Past winners
  • 1989 Ennio Morricone
  • 1990 Gian Maria Volonté
  • 1991 Jacques Rivette
  • 1992 Manoel de Oliveira
  • 1993 Samuel Fuller
  • 1994 Kira Muratova
  • 1995 Jean-Luc Godard
  • 1996 Werner Schroeter
  • 1997 Bernardo Bertolucci
  • 1998 Joe Dante
  • 1999 Daniel Schmid
  • 2000 Paul Verhoeven and Paolo Villaggio
  • 2001 Sundance Institute
  • 2002 Sydney Pollack
  • 2003 Ken Loach
  • 2004 Ermanno Olmi
  • 2005 Terry Gilliam, Abbas Kiarostami and Wim Wenders
  • 2006 Aleksandr Sokurov
  • 2007 Hou Hsiao-Hsien
  • 2008 Amos Gitai
  • 2009 William Friedkin
  • 2010 Alain Tanner and Jia Zhang-ke
  • 2011 Abel Ferrara 
  • 2012 Leos Carax
  • 2013 Werner Herzog
  • 2014 Agnès Varda
  • 2015 Marco Bellocchio and Michael Cimino
  • 2016 Alejandro Jodorowsky
  • 2017 Jean-Marie Straub and Todd Haynes
  • 2018 Bruno Dumont
  • 2019 John Waters
  • 2021 John Landis
  • 2022 Kelly Reichardt
  • 2023 Harmony Korine


Support the festival now with a donation